Posted by: loveleigh | April 30, 2009

UGA Professor one of “America’s Most Wanted”

Marketing professor George Zinkhan is still on the loose after killing three people at community theater near downtown Athens on Saturday afternoon. The three victims include Marie Bruce (Zinkhan’s wife), Ben Teague, and Thomas Cole Tanner. Police issued a nationwide search for Zinkhan. Today he was added to the America’s Most Wanted list. This is a very tragic situation especially for it to happen in college town like Athens, Georgia. My sister and many of my friends attend UGA, while talking to a few of them they told me just how scary Saturday was. I think The University of Georgia did a very good job in response to this incident. All the student got a text message from the university’s alert system. However, it was interesting to here that it took a little longer than normal to get the message out because the alert goes to all faculty and staff, and since Zinkhan is a professor, the university was trying to figure out how to remove his name from the alert list.

I can’t believe that this happened so close to home. You always here about shootings on the news but never think it could happen anywhere near you or your loved ones. My sister’s apartment is just one street over from the theater where it happened, so i shocked and very concerned when she called to tell me about it. She also told me that there is a heavy presence of police on campus everyday walking around with assault rifles. I think it is good that Athens and the surrounding counties are still taking this very seriously even days after the incident occurred. They have been doing a great job keeping their citizens protected, which makes me feel a lot better because I don’t know what I would do if something ever happened to my sister!

* Read more at UGA’s newspaper Red and Black


Responses

  1. I feel the same way too. It seems as if there is always something bad happening these days.

  2. […] Commented on It’s a Loveleigh Life […]


Leave a comment

Categories