Posted by: loveleigh | April 27, 2009

I’ve Caught The Travel Bug…Europe Here I Come

There are only about 2 weeks left in this semester and this summer cannot come fast enough for me because I’m going to have the best summer ever. I have not one but TWO trips to Europe planned. I am going to Madrid, Spain for three weeks, and then I am going to Waterford, Ireland for five weeks. I’ve never been out of the country so I am very excited for this adventure to start.

madrid

My first trip I have planned is to Madrid. My adventure will start on May 17th when I fly out of Atlanta. This opportunity came about when my cousin, Bridgette, who is a Spanish professor at the University of West Georgia got accepted into a study abroad program for professors. Bridgette has two kids, Amelia who is 1 and Peyton who is 3, so she asked me if I would come to Madrid with her to take care of her kids while she was in school. An opportunity like this doesn’t come around often so of course I said yes. Bridgette’s husband works for Delta so he was able to get me a buddy pass, So I am flying for free and staying in a 3 bedroom apartment in Madrid for free for three whole weeks, I would have been crazy to turn it down. I have to admit though that I am a very nervous about the language barrier. Since I haven’t taken a Spanish class since my tenth grade in high school, my Spanish is a little rusty.

irelandMy next trip to Ireland is one I have been planning since last year. I’m going with Georgia Southern to study abroad for five weeks where I will be taking World Literature and Sociology of Religion classes. There are about 45 students going in the same program. I have only met a few of them, but when I got to orientation on May 16th, I will get a chance to meet everyone including my professors. The best part about this study abroad trip is the schedule, I will have class only on Monday’s and Wednesday’s and Tuesday’s and Thursday’sare reserved for field trips with our professors, and then we have Friday through Sunday to travel on our own. I’ve already started looking into places I want to go and see.

I can’t wait for school to end and my adventure to begin!

Responses

  1. Leigh, I’m so jealous of your travels! You are going to have a BLAST! I’ve always wanted to go to Spain! I did a study abroad with Georgia Southern 2 summers ago and went to Italy for 5 weeks! I really enjoyed my time there, just a lot of work! Good luck and have fun! I can’t wait to see pictures!!

  2. Nice article! Planning to go to Madrid next year, got very good recommendations from a friend of mine. He’s been to Madrid, Barcelona, and several other places.
    He showed me his pics: http://www.viaggee.com, I was fascinated, plus your article definitely convinced me to go.

    thx, Mark.


Leave a Reply

Categories

